Stahp.

My apologies for being absent these past couple of weeks, sickness and work obligations pried me from my blog (and more excuses of the adult variety). I’m in rant mode, and I’m sitting at my internship, typing away because if I don’t get it out now, I won’t get it out at all. It seems more and more prevalent in my newsfeed that statuses are popping up like “I just got offered a job as a prostitute, but I’m hesitant” OR “I think I am in love with someone, what should I do?” When I cottoned on to the pattern with these statuses I was sent a private message that went like this:

“This is THE 2014 BREAST CANCER AWARENESS game. Don’t be a spoil sport, pick your poison from one of these and change your status, 1) Damn diarrhoea 2) Just used my boobs to get out of a speeding ticket 3) Anyone have a tampon, I’m out? 4) How do you get rid of foot fungus? 5) Why is nobody around when I’m horny? 6) No toilet paper, goodbye socks. 7) Someone has offered me a job as a prostitute but I’m hesitant. 8 )I think I’m in love with someone, what should I do? 9) I’ve decided to stop wearing underwear. 10) It’s confirmed, I’m going to be a Mummy / Daddy! 11) just won £900 on a scratch card 12) I’ve just found out I’ve been cheated on for the last 5 months. Post with no explanations I fell for it too!!!!! I will be looking forward to your post, or donate $100 to the cancer society.”

when_i_saw_the_15_carat_diamond_ring_kanye_bought_for_kim_kardashian-95782

What? So people are posting these statuses so they don’t have to donate money to the ‘Cancer Society’? I’m bursting with objections, so I need to list them to get this straight:

1. I’m not sure that the Australian’s posting these have noticed that the Cancer Society is an American-based organization, and that the National Breast Cancer Foundation in Australia is a completely separate organisation.

tumblr_mwy7ntdZoF1rjid86o1_250

2. HOW does posting attention-seeking statuses ‘create awareness’ of breast cancer if the only thing you’re posting is a click-bait-y over-share?

tumblr_mp82veYcWv1r95813o1_500

3.  If people don’t figure it out they will never get let in on the fact that it’s a supposed breast cancer awareness post. And all they see is an annoying Facebook status.

miley-cyrus-crying-gif

4. All I’m noticing is that there are a million and one of these statuses, which only points out that no one thought “I’m gonna donate money to this worthy cause”.

13812160621131157312

5. But then it seemed like a really good idea to share it in secret among friends who finally saw the pattern?

rihanna-realization

 

At the end of the day, people can post what they like and that’s their business. But I don’t think anyone should post an inflammatory status, with the pretense of being someone who truly wants to contribute to cancer awareness/research. If you’re interested in really creating awareness of breast cancer, you can donate here: http://www.nbcf.org.au/

I think then maybe it’s worth posting on Facebook.

tumblr_lyfatx9HUf1r6f3edo1_500

 

Leave a Reply

